Close search

Search the handbook

  • 06 Equity and Rights in Society
  • Discrimination
  • Federal Human Rights Framework
handbook symbol Tasmanian Legal

In this chapter Expand current chapter list below

Federal Human Rights Framework

The Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC)

The Australian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) is a government body that develops policy on discrimination and human rights, and can hear complaints under the federal discrimination laws – the Racial Discrimination Act 1975 (Cth), the Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (Cth), the Disability Discriminatio...

Age Discrimination

The Age Discrimination Act 2004 (Cth) (the ADA) is a relatively new arrival in Commonwealth discrimination law. There have been limited cases brought before the courts, and they represent a small percentage of complaints brought to the attention of the AHRC. The purposes of the Act are to raise c...

Disability Discrimination

The Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth) deals with discrimination on the grounds of disability and makes discrimination unlawful in employment, access to premises, education, the administration of Commonwealth laws and programs, and the provision of goods, services and facilities, and many o...

Racial Discrimination

The Racial Discrimination Act 1975 (Cth) prohibits racial discrimination in certain areas of public life, and provides for equality before the law on the ground of race. It applies throughout Australia. It is part of Australia’s fulfilment of its obligations under the International Convention on ...

Sex Discrimination

This chapter still needs a description to be added

Page last updated 13/12/2017

Previous Section Discrimination in Employment
Next Section Lodging a Complaint