Close search

Search the handbook

  • 15 Immigration Law
  • Permanent Visas – Humanitarian
  • Types of Australian Visas
  • Offshore – resettlement
handbook symbol Tasmanian Legal

Offshore – resettlement

There are two categories in this visa category: Refugee and Special Humanitarian Program (SHP). Refugee is for people subject to persecution in their home country, and the SHP is for people who are outside their home country, and are proposed for an SHP visa by an Australia citizen, resident, eligible New Zealand citizen, or an organisation operating in Australia. Detailed information is available.

There are five categories of Offshore – Resettlement visas available under the Refugee and Humanitarian Visas heading. These are:

Refugee Visa (Subclass 200): the three requirements to be eligible for this visa are that: the applicant be living outside their home country but not have entered Australia without a visa, be subject to persecution in their home country, and have compelling reasons for resettlement in Australia. The application can include a partner/spouse, dependent children and certain dependent relatives. There is no charge for this visa. This is a permanent visa.

In-country Special Humanitarian Program Visa (Subclass 201): this visa has limited places. The applicant must be living in their home country (unable to leave or seek refuge elsewhere), and be subject to persecution in their home country.

Global Special Humanitarian Program Visa (Subclass 202): this visa class is for people who are not refugees but are subject to substantial discrimination and human rights abuses in their home country. They must be proposed for entry by an Australian citizen or permanent resident over the age of 18, and must be living outside their home country. Partners, dependent children and some dependent relatives can be included in the application. Application is free.

Emergency Rescue Visa (Subclass 203): this visa subclass has limited places. The cases are referred to Australia by the United Nations High Commission on Refugees (UNHCR). The applicant must be in a situation where normal processing times would put their life or freedom at risk.

Women at Risk Visa (Subclass 204): this visa class is for women. Only women can apply. This visa class has an annual target of 12% of all refugee places. To qualify the applicant must be living outside her home country, subject to persecution in her home country, or registered with the UNHCR as being ‘of concern’, without the protection of a male relative, and in danger of victimisation, harassment or serious abuse because she is female. Dependent children, some relatives, and partner can be included in the application. This is a permanent visa.

Page last updated 20/09/2021

Next Section Onshore – protection