Close search

Search the handbook

  • 14 Community and Environment
  • Dogs, Cats and Animal Control
  • Wildlife
handbook symbol Tasmanian Legal

In this chapter Expand current chapter list below


The Wildlife (General) Regulations 2010 which are issued under the Nature Conservation Act 2002  regulate the taking and possession of wildlife.

It is an offence for a person to buy, sell or possess any wildlife taken contrary to the regulations (Reg 38 and Division 5). The regulations provide for permits and licences and set out the different categories of protected and restricted animals. Schedules 2 and 4 of the regulations list the species which are partly protected, protected or specially protected wildlife. These include a wide range of native birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and even invertebrates such as the Tasmanian glow worm.

A number of native birds, such as the  sulphur crested cockatoo or a rainbow lorikeet may be bought, sold or held without a permit (Schedule 3); whereas a permit issued under regulation 24 is required if a person wishes to take, have possession of, buy or sell or otherwise dispose of other protected wildlife. The regulations provide for a number of other permits and licences: for example, a permit to take wildlife for scientific or educational purposes (Reg 25); and wallaby, muttonbird and hunting licences (Regs 1314 and 15).

Page last updated 14/12/2017

Previous Section Birds, Domestic Fowl and Livestock